Understanding the TPP11 – Market Access for Goods

  • March 25th, 2017

The TPP was originally negotiated and signed with 12 countries: Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, United States and Vietnam.
Presently, as the deal moves toward implementation, not all the original members will remain involved. The United States will not proceed with domestic level ratification of the TPP and others may follow suit.
However, the agreement can still come into force with a modest adjustment and the rest of the agreement is likely to stand. Officials had always included an option to trigger the agreement with as few as six members.

Comments are closed.